New Mexico Licenses & Regulations

Obtaining a New Mexico fishing license to fish the San Juan River or Navajo Lake is easy! Licenses can be purchased for various periods and are available online or at any local sporting goods store along the way to the Rainbow Lodge! Below is a brief Q&A summary with links to obtain your license.

 How to obtain a New Mexico fishing license:

This is the simplest way to get your New Mexico fishing license, especially if you are out of state.

Physical Stores:
You can buy a fishing license at almost any sporting goods store on your drive to the San Juan River. The New Mexico Department of Game and Fish offers this list of physical stores online if it is of any help:
New Mexico Fishing License Vendor List

Do my kids need a fishing license?
Not if they are 11yrs or younger. 12yrs old and up DO need a fishing license.

Why do I need a fishing license if I am with a guide?
Before embarking on a fishing trip anywhere in New Mexico, you must obtain a fishing license as per state law. To make a long story short, here is New Mexico's current License Requirements:

ALL persons 12 years or older, while fishing in New Mexico,
must have on their person a current New Mexico fishing
license. Anglers 11 years of age and younger do not need a
fishing license. Resident anglers 70 years of age and older
need a Free Fishing License available at any Department
office or license vendor.

Download the current version of New Mexico's fishing regulations here:

 If you need any help with obtaining your fishing license(s) please don't hesitate to contact us!


  Voice: 505-632-5717   Email: Click Here to Email

Resolution Guide Service Reports

A San Juan River Fishing Report Blog from the River's Edge!
Read Now!